Before the cottage hospital was built on the outskirts of Forres, the only available inpatient accommodation in the town was in a small building on Burnside. A public meeting held in 1888 first mooted the possibility of building a cottage hospital in Forres and in the following year architect John Rhind was asked to provide plans.
The site chosen for the hospital was to the south-east of Forres, on Chapelton Muir, and extended to 9 ½ acres. It was described as ‘most picturesque and secluded, the trees in rear of the building sheltering them from East winds and forming an excellent background to a noble pile of buildings.’
The original hospital has been extended on several occasions, most significantly by the 1939 maternity wing, however the integrity and charm of the original design is still apparent and in 1993 the main hospital block was listed under category B by Historic Environment Scotland.
In addition to the main hospital block with its east and west wings, there are various separate buildings including the nurses’ residence, boiler house and mortuary, gate lodge and bungalow. The gate lodge and adjacent water fountain are category B listed alongside the main hospital block.
Click on the below images to view a larger version
LEANCHOIL TRUST CATCHMENT AREA